top of page

Are You Ready for Easter?

Image Courtesy of Pixabay

"And if Christ has not been raised, our preaching is useless and so is your faith. More than that, we are then found to be false witnesses about God, for we have testified about God that he raised Christ from the dead. But he did not raise him if in fact the dead are not raised. For if the dead are not raised, then Christ has not been raised either. And if Christ has not been raised, your faith is futile; you are still in your sins. Then those also who have fallen asleep in Christ are lost. If only for this life we have hope in Christ, we are of all people most to be pitied." 1 Cor. 15:14-19 (NIV).

On Easter Sunday, 2013, I arrived at church early for the purpose of being available for whatever ministry may be needed. The greeters and elders were mainly in the lobby socializing with people. No one in the lobby appeared in need or was unfamiliar to me. So I walked out of the lobby and almost immediately saw an unfamiliar man who appeared to be in his early twenties.

He was gazing around the sanctuary when I approached him, so I asked if he was looking for someone. He said that he was just thinking and has some questions, but that he better not ask them. I introduced myself and invited him to speak his mind. His name was Jared and he asked me why we had a marketplace in the church. Knowing that he was referring to John 2:14-16, where Jesus rebukes the Israelites for turning his Father's house into a market, I was prepared to address his concern without patronizing him. I assured him that selling donuts and Christian books in our lobby was not an investment to make profit, but an attempt to get away from the weird traditional things of the church that can make it so uncomfortable for visitors. He nodded appreciatively of my response and posed his second question.

Looking at all of the flags hanging in our sanctuary, Jared asked why we didn't hang a flag for Islam. I did not laugh or patronize this question either, but answered his question truthfully. I explained that the flags hanging in the sanctuary represents countries in which we fund missionaries: some of which include ministry to Muslims. He replied with, "That makes sense."

It was after I had met him where he was (at least in his mind) that I offered to sit with him during service. He said that he was meeting his sister, Kaylen, there. He had not been to church since he was a little boy and wanted to get right with God. My wife and I sat next to Jared and Kaylen during service. During the altar call, Jared committed his life to Christ and was visibly joyful about his decision. His sister explained to my wife that Jared had not been out of the military long and had been resisting God. Tears streaming down her face, Kaylen hugged my wife and said, "This is huge. I've been praying for this for so long!"

Easter is not merely an excuse to invite people to church so that the Pastor can get them saved. Sharing the joy of Salvation is done on all levels through all kinds of acts of service. My small part in Jared's Easter experience was not to convince him to surrender to Christ, but to break down barriers that threaten to darkened his understanding and hardened his heart (Eph. 4:18). This enabled his mind to be clear enough to hear the truth of Salvation.

Let's say that it takes ten people investing in someone's life before they surrender to the Lord. Are you alright with always being number seven or do you always have to be number ten? Do you only see yourself as praying the salvation prayer or leading someone to the alter? Or do you have the humility, patience, gentleness, and love to be number seven each time?

Are you ready to do your part for Easter?

"But sanctify Christ as Lord in your hearts, always being ready to make a defense to everyone who asks you to give an account for the hope that is in you, yet with gentleness and reverence." 1 Peter 3:15 (NIV).

31 March 2018


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page