top of page

Savior Pressure (a Messianic parody of Surface Pressure)


I'm the savior, I'm not nervous

I'm as tough as a virgin birth is

I split mountains, divide churches

Should kick back cause my footstool’s what earth is


I say the healthy need no doctor

Got a good all powerful father

Dionysus, Poseidon, I find 'em, I flatten 'em

I take the pantheon, I break the lot of them, but


Under the surface

I feel condemned for telling the truth in a three-cross Sanhedrin

Under the surface

Was David ever like, "Yo, I don't wanna fight heathens"

Under the surface

I'm pretty sure faith’s worthless unless followed by service


Theology has a crack

The straw and the chaff

That breaks the camel's back

The needle breaks the camel's back, it's


Pressure, like a whip, whip, whip on the temple grounds, whoa

Pressure that'll hit, hit, hit 'til the nails go through, whoa, oh, oh

Give it to all John, your cousin’s older

He likes the weird stuff that we can't shoulder

Who am I if the I Am can't save all?

If I fall to


Pressure, like a whip, whip, whip on the temple grounds, whoa

Pressure that'll hit, hit, hit 'til the nails go through, whoa, oh, oh

Give it to Peter, he says he’s stronger

See if he can hang on a little longer

Who am I if the I Am can't save all?

If I falter


Under the surface

I hide my nerves, and it worsens, I worry the Romans’ gonna hurt us

Under the surface

The disciples don’t serve food for how big the multitude is

Under the surface

I think about my purpose, can I preserve Judas?


Surrounded like Jericho

The Miracles grow

Try to be so humbling

But on and on it goes


But wait, if I could shake the militaristic weight of expectations

Would that free peace, love, and joy

Or sanctification from carnal pleasure?

Instead, we measure redemptive pressure

Keeps growing, keep going

'Cause all we know is


Pressure, like a whip, whip, whip on the temple grounds, whoa

Pressure that'll hit, hit, hit 'til the nails go through, whoa, oh, oh

Give it to your mother, it doesn't hurt, and

See if Mary can handle every family burden

Watch as she observes and ponders but never breaks

Full of grace? Just...


Pressure, like a whip, whip, whip on the temple grounds, whoa

Pressure that'll hit, hit, hit 'til the nails go through, whoa, oh, oh

Give it to the church and never wonder

If the same pressure would've pulled it under

Who am I if the I Am can't save all?

No cracks, no chaff

No compromise, no pressure


August 5, 2023

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page