top of page

Solomon Hated Life and So Should We


I have never cared much for poetry. It seems so specific to the perspective of the individual that it has rarely made an impact on me. Not that poetry is meaningless (no pun intended for those familiar with Ecclesiastes 1), but it is not the sort of writing that is effective in communicating impactful sentiments upon a personality such as my own. There was even a brief period in my life when I wrote poetry. However, I was fully aware that others would be incapable of appreciating my throng of emotions compacted into a few lines because they lacked my unique experiences and outlook on life.


As a youth, I dismissed the value of reading what was labeled, “Books of Poetry” in my Bible’s table of contents. It affected the way these books were taught to me and how I understood their meaning. Perhaps you are like me; I prefer to read history and come to my own conclusions. The poetic books of the Bible seemed to have few stories and many conclusions spoon-fed to the readers.


Happy was I to learn, as an adult, that these books were being relabeled as the “Wisdom Books.” This improvement instantly impacted the way I perceived these books. No longer would I think of them as merely the emotional expressions of men experiencing events wholly unconnected with my journey with God but, instead, as “nuggets” of truth expressed in terms that I could relate to on my own terms as the Lord reveals them to me.


I admit, my short-sightedness hindered me from making this connection prior to publishers relabeling these books from poetry to wisdom. However, as part of Generation X, I grew up in a time when everything and everyone was given a label and one’s identity was formed based on their acceptance and rejection of labels. This pressure to fit into categories of conformity often leads us to naïvely dismiss the value of those objects or persons belonging to another label (e.g., introvert vs. extrovert, liberal vs. conservative, or blue collar vs. white collar). In this case, I rejected the value that Ecclesiastes could have on my walk with God due to my prejudice against that particular label of poetry.


Although there are many mind-blowing passages in Ecclesiastes, trying to understand Solomon’s first declaration of the book has been effective in developing my understanding of God and Christianity. Even though my following explanations often include my opinion, it is my hope that sharing my viewpoint may help others to be further enlightened by the content.


“Futility of futilities,” says the Preacher, “Futility of futilities! All is futility.”

Ecclesiastes 1:2 (NASB)


Solomon believes that everything is futile. Other translations replace futility with meaningless or vanity. This is a difficult statement to resolve. Indeed, it takes Solomon twelve chapters to thoroughly unravel the mystery of what is not futility. There are many explanations from pastors and scholars explaining this overarching theme, but I still often come back to one question: how can everything be futile, and, at the same time, certain things have value? For instance, nothing is better than eating, drinking, and labor (Eccl. 2:24). How, then, can they be simultaneously futile? Furthermore, why does Solomon say that there is nothing better to do than rejoice but later says that mourning is better than feasting and sorrow better than laughter (Eccl. 3:12; 7:2-3)? Verses like these create a paradox in my mind. However, rather than dismiss them as poetical nonsense (like I used to do), I now understand a principle that Solomon subtly conveys throughout his work that helps me and, hopefully, will help you better interpret Ecclesiastes.


This principle is that everything was created from the beginning in futility. Paul wrote, “For the creation was subjected to futility” (Rom. 8:20, NASB). You see, there are pastors, scholars, and commentaries which teach that God created the heavens and the earth to be perfect, without death, and with the intention of existing forever. They further teach that this plan of creation was altered as soon as Adam and Eve sinned. This is not a biblically sound doctrine, as Paul explains in Romans 8:20-22. Evidence of our present earth and universe being created in futility abounds. More and more Christian astronomers, zoologists, geologists, etc. are accepting the physical evidence presented by our earth and universe, which contributes many clues to its history. For instance, it is absolutely certain that many species of animals came into being and became extinct prior to the creation of man. This, among other examples, validates Paul’s statement that futility (to include the law of decay) was present long before the first couple existed, not to mention prior to their committing original sin.


I apologize for sidewinding down a different theological path just now, but feel it is crucial to lay the groundwork for my next statement, which is that Solomon means that everything in this present age is truly futile. Peter wrote, “The heavens will pass away with a great noise, and the elements will melt with fervent heat; both the earth and the works that are in it will be burned up” (2 Pet. 3:10, NKJV). Nothing in its current form will last, and, thus, he questions the value of doing or possessing anything.


By this reasoning, one can understand why Solomon “hated life” (Eccl. 2:17, NASB). This life and the good deeds one can do is limited and, therefore, futile. No matter what we do, it will all come to an end one day. It is not unlike Jesus’ proclamation, “If anyone comes to Me and does not hate his own father, mother, wife, children, brothers, sisters, yes, and even his own life, he cannot be My disciple” (Luke 14:26, NASB). Mankind will fail to accomplish anything if the goal is merely to find meaning in the futile aspects of life that Solomon tried (e.g., pleasures, wisdom, lust, family, dreams, labor, etc.).


So where does Solomon find value in life? In doing those things which have eternal significance. It appears that Solomon finds purpose in living in a way that will have an effect on those who inherit the new heaven and new earth (Rev. 21:1). This is why wisdom alone is vanity, but “wisdom along with an inheritance is good” (Eccl. 7:11, NASB). This is also why the events of Ecclesiastes 3:2-8 (often entitled “A Time for Everything”) are vanity of themselves, but, if done in season, that is, in God’s season, they are good. Therefore, Solomon declares that God appoints order for mankind: “He has made everything appropriate in its time. He has also set eternity in their heart” (Eccl. 3:11, NASB). It is with eternity in mind that we should strive to understand God’s purpose for our lives.


Solomon’s teachings in Ecclesiastes help Christians understand how foolish it is to embrace the things of this world rather than the those of the spirit (cf. Rom. 8:6; 12:2). The process of sanctification is ongoing, and we do well to examine those areas of our lives that warrant pruning for the good of the whole being. There are Christians who believe that they should feed the hungry, clothe the naked, and visit the sick without representing Christ. They believe the good deed itself is what Christians are commissioned to do. However, even unbelievers do just as much. Christians are mandated to represent Christ and be a light to the world. Let me ask it this way, who cares if you feed children, if you are content to let them starve spiritually? Feeding children is futile accept as a means to making an eternal difference. Every goal of which we strive to achieve in our lives should be dedicated toward eternal significance or it is futility.


March 27, 2021

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page